picture of town fountain

Citizen of the Year

News Icon

Snider Plaza REAP Strategy

News Icon

Apply now for the Centennial Master Plan Steering Committee

News Icon

Mosquito Fogging Scheduled for Friday, July 12. 

News Icon

Purse snatching suspect in custody.

News Icon

UPPD and HPDPS asking for public’s assistance to identify burglary suspects    

News Icon

Dive-In Movies, Summer 2019.


The Citizen of the Year award was created by the City Council in 2005 to boost public awareness and appreciation for the many residents who work, often behind the scenes, to better the City's quality of life.  Nominees for Citizen of the Year must:

  • Be a University Park resident;
  • Have worked to improve the quality of life in University Park.
Current and former Mayors and Councilmembers are not eligible for this award.  If you have questions about the nomination process, please call Steve Mace at 214-987-5301 or email him at smace@uptexas.org.  

The nomination process for the 2020 Citizen of the Year will begin next spring.

Renowned sports photographer selected University Park’s 2019 Citizen of the Year
Randy James is University Park’s 2018 Citizen of the Year

Brad Bradley, a highly awarded sports photographer and WWII veteran, has been selected University Park’s 2019 Citizen of the Year. 

Brad was overwhelmed when Mayor Olin Lane Jr. called him with the news. “It was a great joy to talk to the Mayor and I was so honored to have been selected,” Brad said.

Brad, who will celebrate his 97th birthday on July 23, has lived in University Park since 1947. Brad was born and raised on a farm between Arlington and Mansfield and attended Arlington High School. For college, he attended North Texas Agricultural College, which is now known as University of Texas Arlington.

Before his photography career began, Brad entered the service in 1943 and was in the Army Air Corps until the end of World War II. Following the war, Brad worked for the government auctioning off property in Arizona and then Texarkana.  In 1947, his father-in-law, Jim Laughead, began completing yearbook photography for SMU.  With plans to open a studio he asked Brad and his wife Betty to move to University Park and help with the shop.  Laughead Photography was located on Hillcrest, in the space that is currently occupied by Jimmy John’s.

The studio opened many doors for Brad.  Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker was playing for SMU the first year he photographed their games.  Brad began taking photos for the Cotton Bowl in 1947.  Today, he is the only sports photographer in the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame.  During his legendary career, Brad has worked with over 40 sports teams throughout the country at the high school, college and professional levels. In the summer of 2018, the College Football Hall of Fame presented an exhibit dedicated to his photography.

Although Brad doesn’t do as much photography as he once did, he still is active in the community. He enjoys serving on the University Park Public Facilities Naming Committee, and assisted by his son Jimmy, he continues to take photos for Highland Park High School, as well as SMU, the Cotton Bowl and the Park Cities July 4 Parade. Brad also starts every morning with coffee at Kuby’s so he can visit with people. As a matter of fact, his favorite part about living in University Park is the people. “I enjoy being around young people and there are so many in this community,” Brad mentioned. “I feel like I have made some really wonderful friends along the way.”

After riding in the July 4 Parade, Brad will be presented with a plaque and a special Citizen of the Year gift during a brief ceremony at the gazebo in Goar Park. The Citizen of the Year award was created by the City Council in 2005 to boost public awareness and appreciation for the many residents who work, often behind the scenes, to better the City’s quality of life.

Past Citizen of the Year Recipients:
2018 - Randy James
2017 - Jerry Washam
2016 - Eddy Moore
2015 - Byron Egan
2014 - Youth Advisory Commission
2013 - Bill Skelton
2012 - Connie O'Neill
2011 - Jim and Judy Gibbs
2010 - Max Fuqua
2009 - Nancy Egan
2008 - Chris Murzin
2007 - Bill Pardoe
2006 - Diane Galloway
2005 - Elizabeth Farley